Lord, Have Mercy

At one point in my life I considered going to medical school. I decided against it for a number of reasons. One reason was the work environment. You work amongst the sick, and depending upon your field of medicine, the dying. I didn’t think I had what it takes (I still don’t think so).

Something occurred to me recently, though. My current field of work doesn’t seem all that dissimilar from physical hospitals. Working in Christian education places you in a context where there is physical strength and health all around, yet souls sick and heavy laden. I am frequently shocked at the level of anxiety the youth of today carry. Guilt ridden faces walk the halls. Sorrow, despair, and hurt can be seen in the eyes of students on a daily basis.

Such a sight grieves my heart.

Lord, have mercy.

What’s more, I see my own pains in their faces. It wasn’t too long ago I walked those halls carrying my own baggage after my parents died. It’s wasn’t too long ago that I hid my own guilt and grief behind cheap smiles. I was mortally wounded (spiritually speaking), and without hope save Christ.

The more I work I have the opportunity to work with people of various ages, the more I am convinced that all man’s “solutions” to our maladies only exacerbate our problems by creating false hopes in items never able to pay-up. Humanity runs at a frenetic pace from one placebo to another. Occasionally, the symptoms subside, but only for a short while. When the old hurt returns, it brings with it new strength. And, the cycle begins again.

Lord, have mercy.

My own personal opinion is this: Man is in a desperate search for true life, a life worth living, no matter the cost. And, the incessant merchandise propaganda says that life is found in stuff (despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary). Popular culture paints unreal (literally) pictures of the “good life” and people (especially teens) are shocked to find the goal impossible, and the reality depressing. What a weary pursuit, chasing after the wind.

Lord, have mercy.

How long until we realize the “life” being painted by CGI images and Hollywood promises isn’t life but actually a lie. Culture’s attempt to offer L-I-F-E shortchanged us and offered us a L-I-E. And, we’re the ones to blame for not seeing it.

Life is found only in the Life-giver. Jesus says “Come to me all who labor and are heavy laden. I will give you rest.” (Mt. 11:28)

“This is eternal life, that you know God, the only True God, and Jesus Christ whom he sent.” (Jn. 17:3)

 

 

Leave a Reply

