“Safer than a known way”

Ravi Zacharias was preaching recently and he quoted a portion of a poem I had never heard. It had special significance to me as I reflect on a year that recently ended as well as a year recently begun. The poem is called “God Knows” and was written by Minnie Louise Haskins. Here is what Zacharias quoted:

And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year: “Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.”
And he replied: “Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the Hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

I found this quite meaningful (as I do many of the things Zacharias quotes). The unknown that is 2014 could cause an anxious man like myself a lot to fret over. Yet, the above statement rings true. Why only ask for wisdom from God to make choices and move about my days when he offers himself (Mt. 28:18-20). Yes, seek wisdom, and then walk with the Word, which is Wisdom incarnate. Walking with the Word is “better than light and safer than a known way.”

May we walk hand in hand with our Holy Father knowing his presence is “better than light and safer than a known way.”

Leave a comment